Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

Quarterlife (and its mind-boggling absence of snark)

with 2 comments

I’m watching the premiere of Quarterlife right now. It’s that show that’s supposed to be A Big Deal because it’s the first web-series-turned-major-network-series, and also because it’s from the creators of thirtysomething (which, being all Gen Y and such, means nothing to me) and My So-Called Life (which, being all Gen Y and such, was like the COOLEST SHOW EVER to me for a hot 14-year-old minute). Anyway … not so much a fan. Not so far at least. It has only been 14 minutes. But it seems to me that the main girl — Dylan — is just Angela Chase 2.0 (now with ironic t-shirts and a vlog!), and somehow that kind of earnestness just seems so 90s, no? Or at least more appropriate to MSCL’s high-schoolers than kids who are supposed to be post-collegiate. But a 20-something still hanging on to that much sincerity, self-absorption and enthusiasm? Why that’s just exhausting. Plus, this kid —

Jed from Quarterlife

is no Jordan Catalano.

Jordan Catalano

~~~~~~~~~

Some sample Quarterlife dialogue:

Boy: You don’t disgust me
Girl: Then why did you say I disgust you?
Boy: Because I always speak in opposites. You fill me with …
Girl: With what?
Boy: Longing
Girl: (something)
Boy: Shut up
Girl: I can’t shut up
Boy: I don’t want you to.
Girl: You don’t?
Boy: I love your voice too much.

~~~~~~~~~~~
An LA Times review of the show noted that despite it’s web-roots, “it may in fact be the most relentlessly traditional, nay, even nostalgic show to ever air on television,” which pretty much sums it up. Seriously, How I Met Your Mother is edgier than this show. Huh. And I was all prepared to like it.

Written by Elizabeth

February 27, 2008 at 3:33 am

Posted in Culture, Gen Y

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Word. That dialog? 90s angst to the Nth degree. I should know, I was there. I saw the commercials for that show and thought, “oh, they made Reality Bites into a watered-down TV show.”

    Also, regarding Things White People Like? Double word. I was watching this movie the other night called Being Human. It was kinda mediocre and Charlie Kaufman-esque. Then the credits roll. It was written by Charlie Kaufman. And directed by Michael Gondry. And produced by Spike Jonze. Like, the whitest movie ever….

    erinelizabeth

    February 27, 2008 at 2:21 pm

  2. Wasn’t Being Human that terrible 80s film where Robin Williams is in a pre-Bill&Ted time travel adventure looking for well-fitting shoes?

    Jables Gully

    March 2, 2008 at 1:35 am


Leave a Reply

