Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

The effectiveness of negative campaign ads, as told by my mother

with 4 comments

My family lives in Ohio so, you know, big primary day for them today. My dad — an “independent” who has never voted for a Democrat in his life as far as I know but has been known to vote for 3rd party candidates — voted for McCain. I talked to my mom as she was on the way to the polling place. She was going so she could vote about school board taxes, but said she’d probably refrain from voting in the presidential race. If she was going to vote for anyone it would be a Democrat, she said, but she “just didn’t like all that fighting” they did. What fighting, I asked? You know, those campaign ads; they’re always calling each other names. Well, they’re competing against each other, what do you want them to do? I said. Well I just don’t like it. And there you have it.

My friends and I like to share with each other our parents’ reasons for supporting or hating various political figures. The best is probably one friends’ mother, who dislikes Al Gore because he “got fat” after the 2004 election and “if someone could just get fat like that, who knows what they would do in office.”

Written by Elizabeth

March 5, 2008 at 12:35 am

Posted in My Life, Story-Telling

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That sounds like a nearly identical conversation I would have with my mom.

    Arjewtino

    March 5, 2008 at 4:34 pm

  2. Year’s ago, one of my mom’s elderly friends announced at a sizable lunch gathering that she was voting for George Bush. When she got a lot of surprised looks at this outburst she said it was because “that Laura is just so nice. I like her.” We refrained from saying “You do know it’s her husband that will actually be in the job, right?”

    lacochran

    March 5, 2008 at 4:57 pm

  3. […] on the most cliched-ridiculous of reasons ever, and whose further political musings you can see here), called me just now to ask what I thought about Sarah Palin. The conversation (word for word, I […]

  4. […] the Feelings of the Mythological Middle America (more on my mother’s political musings here and here), called me just an hour after the news broke to get my opinion, and the “hippie names” and […]


Leave a Reply

