Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

And my mother inadvertantly provides early glimpse into critiques of Sara Palin …

with 4 comments

It is—what? An hour and a half after the Palin announcement? My mom (who, for the record, used to think Obama was a “secret Muslim” but has changed her mind and now plans on voting for him, who is in no way a Republican or a Democrat and generally votes based on the most cliched-ridiculous of reasons ever, and whose further political musings you can see here), called me just now to ask what I thought about Sarah Palin. The conversation (word for word, I swear):

Mom: She sounds liberal. Did you hear her kids names?

Me: She’s not liberal at all. She’s super Christian and conservative.

Mom: But did you hear her kids names? And who wants to go to work right after she had a baby. She sounds like a hippie.

Me: She’s not a hippie.

Mom: Does it make you like McCain any more?

Me: Not really. Does it make you?

Mom: Actually, no, I don’t like a lady in there.

Me: What? Why?

Mom: I don’t know. It seems like it should be a man. I mean, no, not really. I shouldn’t say that.

Written by Elizabeth

August 29, 2008 at 4:03 pm

Posted in The Best Things

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s awesome.

    Peter Suderman

    August 29, 2008 at 4:14 pm

  2. Interesting. I’m really surprised that McCain would go for the shock value-take away press from a great Obama speech/Any woman can replace Hillary Clinton and draw her voters-mentality. (Please excuse incorrectly used punctuation).

    It does however stick with the normal playbook of trying to outsmart the American people and appeal to underlying desires and beliefs that contradict our strivings for a “greater” good. I guess we’ll see how this one plays out.

    Matthew Crossley

    August 29, 2008 at 4:16 pm

  3. […] for the Feelings of the Mythological Middle America (more on my mother’s political musings here and here), called me just an hour after the news broke to get my opinion, and the “hippie […]

  4. Haha I love your mom. I love the last line.

    Scarlet

    August 30, 2008 at 12:57 am


Leave a Reply

