Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

Dearest Zelda,

with one comment

Jezebel asks, “Who should play Zelda Fitzgerald in The Beautiful and the Damned?”, which is apparently an upcoming Fitzgerald/Sayre biopic (I was rather hoping it was actually just a new movie based on the book; I adore Gloria Gilbert…). Jessica objects to Keira Knightly, who is rumored to be eyeing the part, and suggests Amanda Seyfried, Kirsten Dunst, Rachel McAdams or Reese Witherspoon. The first two sound good; the last two I say “oh god no” to; but how could anyone really think the part should go to anyone other than Maggie Gyllenhaal?

[Unless, of course, the part goes to me. Come on! We’re in a recession, aren’t we?, and I’d be cheaper than all those Hollywood types. Plus, I’m great at fake-knowing ballet, I have a thing for writers and drunks, and I’ve even suffered all the way through Save Me the Waltz.]

Written by Elizabeth

September 25, 2008 at 7:57 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m sorry but Keira Knightly! She is so wrong for the part. It should go to Kirsten Dunst who actually looks like Zelda and who studies her.

    Isabella

    February 26, 2009 at 5:09 pm


Leave a Reply

