Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

10 Hail Mary’s and a Requirement to Pay Attention to the ‘Future of the Conservatism’ Debates My Friends Are Having on Twitter?

with 7 comments

So I seem to have caught a virulent strain of anti-intellectualism as of late. I haven’t finished a book in a month. The only blog posting I’ve done since the holidays has been on celebrity fashion, my holiday travels and pants. I haven’t picked up a newspaper in I don’t know how long. I skim the blog posts in my RSS feed that look too serious. Not that I’m generally an overly-serious or intellectual person, but I certainly do better than this. So I suppose this is my 10-years of Catholic schooling at work here—I feel the need to confess my sins in public. Suggestions for penance?

Written by Elizabeth

January 12, 2009 at 10:43 pm

Posted in Asides, Memo

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Having attended Catholic school for 13 years, I can offer a penance: Write an essay for Culture11 so good that it wins us a National Magazine Award.

    Conor Friedersdorf

    January 13, 2009 at 1:11 am

  2. No books in a month? Well, I only attended Catholic school for one year, so I’m not much for penance–but I am one for reading books. I suggest you pick something very long–perhaps War and Peace–and force your way through it.

    You’ll feel better for it…

    E.D. Kain

    January 13, 2009 at 2:30 am

  3. Conor—You have me beat on Catholic schooling! K-12, eh? I was only preschool through 10th (minus a year of public kindergarten).

    E.D.—I have read in the past month, I just haven’t finished anything. I keep starting 18 million books, reading a chapter or two, and getting distracted. Last night, though, I started reading a fluff novel about Italy called La Belle Lingua, since I’m traveling there in March, and it kept my attention. It’s no War and Peace, but it’s a start …..

    Elizabeth

    January 13, 2009 at 12:48 pm

  4. I go through those phases as well, Elizabeth. Sometimes reading five or six books at once but not finishing any of them. Just now I started The Historian, which is so far entirely engrossing, and I’m quite confident I’ll push through to the end…but only last month I was in the same exact place you describe…

    E.D. Kain

    January 13, 2009 at 1:22 pm

  5. In addition to being a restaurant refugee, I am also a reformed Roman Catholic with 13 years of educational indoctrination in my distant past.

    Though I love the self-imposed penance that is the title of this post, my prescribed penance: one Kenny G album, two chapters of Ann Coulter, and cocktails with Bill O’Reilly… ok that last one was a bridge too far; it’s not like you maimed anyone.

    restaurantrefugee

    January 13, 2009 at 5:25 pm

  6. Damn, and I always thought 10 years of Catholic school was awfully impressive (also, impressively awful).

    Phil Primeau

    January 13, 2009 at 7:07 pm

  7. No cheese for two weeks. That oughta learn ya.

    Scott H Payne

    January 13, 2009 at 7:13 pm


Leave a Reply

