Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

Twitiquette

with 2 comments

I just came across this post from last March in which Stephen Davies implores “tweeters: stop spamming my facebook.

If there’s one thing that reeeeaaaalllly annoys me on Facebook, it’s when my contacts update their status updates using Twitter.

Aaaaarrgghhhh!

Seriously, dude, maybe you should start using Facebook status updates in the way in which Mr Zukerburg intended? I follow you on Twitter and we’re friends on Facebook so we’ve obviously got a good relationship going on. But, dude, you’re inundating me with your updates and I’m reading them multiple times.

I am guilty of the aforementioned behavior. And I’ve heard from several parties they find this annoying. But there are also a lot of others—others who are non-twitterers—who comment often on my facebook status messages, which would probably not ever be updated if it weren’t happening automatically from twitter. So it allows me to be in marginal e-contact with more people than if I was just twittering. And, if some facebookers don’t like it, they can just bar me from showing up in their newsfeeds. Right? Does anyone else have any thoughts on this (clearly, urgent & pressing) what Phoebe would call “definitive first-world” issue?

[The twitter-to-facebook automation does present problems when you, say, decide to drunk-tweet from white castles at 4 a.m. during a holiday-break bar crawl, and thus what would have maybe gone to a marginal amount of twitter-followers is suddenly broadcast on your facebook status message for all to see until your sister’s boyfriend informs you about it a good near-24-hours later, though. There are things to recommend not being able to update anytime, from anywhere].

Written by Elizabeth

January 19, 2009 at 4:42 pm

Posted in Culture, Misc.

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m in the same boat; if I didn’t link my Facebook status to Twitter, then I’d have very little reason for ever using Facebook, and I’d lose contact with quite a few people.

    BTW, if you’re so inclined, you can follow my tweets at jbouie.

    Jamelle

    January 19, 2009 at 9:15 pm

  2. Worth noting that Facebook has been redesigned, and the format of the twitter-to-Facebook link has changed, since that Davies post was written. His complaints make less sense now, especially since @ replies don’t get ported over.

    John Tabin

    January 22, 2009 at 1:09 pm


Leave a Reply

