Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

New Blogs!

with 2 comments

My friend Rachel was recently laid off … and lived to blog about it:

Friday, January 16, 5:15 PM, conference room: I was laid-off. It happened. The news wasn’t lying about the economy. I’ve never been laid-off before. This was a new experience and I thought I’d spend the weekend letting the ones I care about know what was going on. Because of that, I thought I’d share what I appreciate but didn’t help:

1. Oh that sucks.
2. Really? I’m sorry.
3. F**k.

Go commiserate in ways that don’t echo the above.

Also, several of my favorite Y-chromosomed bloggers (E.D. Kain of Indiepundit, Freddie de Boer of L’Hote, Scott Payne of The Politics of Scrabble, and some others) have  started a new group blog, The League of Ordinary Gentleman.

The League of Ordinary Gentlemen is a group blog that hopes to bring a new style and sensibility to blogging. The contributing writers hail from various points along the political spectrum, but all hold a deep and abiding commitment to the exploration of ideas outside the foray of rhetorical and ideological cul de sacs. The entries are less posts than they are dialogues with an aim towards sustained discussion on topics and issues that lay at the foundations of our lives. This approach, we hope, will provide readers with a thoughtful and searching alternative analysis.

So far, gay marriage, post-post modernity, the good side of partisanship, and more!

Written by Elizabeth

January 26, 2009 at 10:55 pm

Posted in Asides, The Best Things

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks, Elizabeth! And I heard about Rachel. Scary stuff. I can’t imagine getting fired for blogging. Surreal.

    subtlepress

    January 26, 2009 at 11:44 pm

  2. Thanks for the plug, Liz. I super appreciate it. Unemployment makes time go so slow but now I can call you during the day. Yay!

    Rachel

    January 27, 2009 at 1:49 pm


Leave a Reply

