Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

Deciphering Google Voice Messages

leave a comment »

I’m going to decode the Google Voice transcript of a voicemail just left by my dad. The Google Voice transcript:

Yeah. Hey Liz, It’s 10:35 and I was just driving in between jobs. So I had a minute and I wanted to call you and thank you for the i was take care of. I love the color. I’d like to shirt. I don’t work yet but your mom watch that, and I’ll probably wear at this weekend and then watch it again and take it out to California. Your mama college and she’s gonna. Thank you for both of us and I think you got him playing phone tag. She’d like to go to California and she left out this morning and I just called because I had a minute. So if you get this message. You do not have to call me back because I’ll be working. Hello she’d get in the next couple of minutes, but otherwise I’ll give you a call tomorrow or tonight or sunday or something, so hope you’re having a great day and love you and I’ll talk to you Later. Bye Bye.

And what my dad actually said:

Yeah, hey Biz, it’s 10:35, and I was just driving in between jobs so I had a minute, and I wanted to call you and thank you for the father’s day present. I love the color, I really like the shirt. I haven’t worn it yet but your mom washed it, and I’ll probably wear it this weekend and then wash it again and take it out to California. Your mom had called ya and she was going to thank you for both of us and I think you guys ended up playing phone tag. She left to go to California, she left, uh, this morning, and I just called because I had a minute. So if you get this message, you do not have to call me back because I’ll be working—unless you get it in the next couple of minutes, but otherwise I’ll give you a call tomorrow or tonight or sunday or something, so hope you’re having a great day and love you and I’ll talk to you Later. Bye Bye.

Google Voice: The medium is the (garbled) message?

Hahahahaha. That is the kind of bad pun you get from ex-communication students. McLuhan? Get it?

Ugh.

Apologies.

But seriously, y’all: Google Voice makes me laugh daily. I highly recommend.

P.S. Happy father’s day, dad!! Love you!!!

P.P.S. A dramaturgical note: If you were worried my mom may have run out on my dad (the whole up and leaving for California think), take heart—this is a prearranged trip ending in a predetermined amount of time. Also, my dad really likes uniquely-colored t-shirts.

Written by Elizabeth

June 18, 2010 at 11:25 am

Leave a Reply

