Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

What to expect when your blogger’s expecting

with 8 comments

Since I’ve already begun telling so many people in real life (including, finally, my mother), I might as well come out with it digitally: I am expecting. A baby. Well, at least I hope it’s a baby (just before I found out I was pregnant, my sister had a dream I gave birth to a zombie cat). It turns out my uterus is not, as I casually suspected, inhospitable to life.

I am not freaking out too much, yet. Or, rather, I have known for almost 2 months now, so have passed the major freak-out period (OMG I ate pot cookies in San Francisco a week after the baby was, unbeknownst to me, conceived! and the like). I have prenatal vitamins. I’ve quit almost all of my vices (caffeine has proven to be tougher than alcohol & cigarettes combined, though I’m going with the latest research that says up to 200 mg a day is okay). My best friend and her husband (the only close friends of mine who already have a child) sent me a box full of “What to Expect” books, a picture frame for the ultra-sound photo, snack bars, an adorable baby lamb stuffed animal (organic wool, of course), and a wire coat hanger—“Just in case (sorry it’s not rusty)”—because that is the kind of lovely but sick friends I have. She also tells me her mother is already knitting me a baby blanket. And my grandmother is searching out her trusty old pencil-on-a-string so, she says, they can determine the baby’s sex while I’m home for Thanksgiving.

Because I am the kind of person who shares way too much personal information in public forums—no, it was not planned.

But because I am also the kind of person who believes, in the abstract, that abortion is a more-or-less morally neutral act—yes, this is a choice.

So! I’ll accept your congratulations. Or your warnings, pregnancy tips, reading suggestions or cartons of ginger ale (“morning” sickness OMG).

And because I am an insufferable yuppie, I suppose (*side tangent: if, in the 60s, hippie yuppies were nicknamed “yippies,” what do you call today’s hipster yuppies? yipsters?*), the two books I have so-far purchased include The ECO-nomical baby guide and Origins: How the nine months before birth shape the rest of our lives. This last book, and all the recent scientific research it summarizes (you can check out an abbreviated version from Time magazine) is terrifying from both a personal and a societal standpoint, let me tell you. But more on that later.

Which is I guess the last point I wanted to make: Oh, my!, are you probably about to get an eyeful of feminist-tinged pregnant lady rants. Please don’t be worried—I promise not to start writing about the latest in diaper bag technology or anything like that. I just imagine that people’s expectations for me and my fetus are gonna provide ample opportunity for commentary. Hopefully, it will be fun for us all!

I’m also gearing up for a move to Chicago, because I apparently need to complete my trifecta of stints in Cities Midwestern People Move To (isn’t there some sort of toaster I can win for this?), having already spent some time now in NYC and Washington, D.C.

Now: Do I start working towards bylines in Parenting or on Babble?

Written by Elizabeth

November 1, 2010 at 7:01 am

Posted in Story-Telling

Tagged with , , ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, congrats! That’s exciting and wonderful. I would not read much of the What to Expect books… Most likely everything will be fine (the human race has managed to reproduce fairly well for a while) and I don’t think worrying about much helps.

    Laura Vanderkam

    November 1, 2010 at 12:21 pm

  2. Congratulations! That’s awesome! Here’s my VERY IMPORTANT bit of advice. Watch “The Business of Being Born” and consider interviewing midwives. My experience of home birth was THE BEST DECISION I HAVE EVER MADE, and completely changed the tone and nature of the prenatal care I received. If you are the kind of person who believes in the excellence of human body, you will also look into THE BRADLEY METHOD as a preparation for natural childbirth. I used no drugs, and I can tell you, it was tolerable, I feel stronger for it, I had the actual experience and it was great.

    Don’t be surprised if some people are “afraid” or don’t know about alternatives to hospital births. Just watch Business of Being Born and make educated birth choices.

    CONGRATULATIONS!

    Courtney Poulos

    November 1, 2010 at 1:09 pm

  3. You’re moving to Chicago?? Awesome! Oh, and that other thing is pretty cool too 🙂

    Although I have no real desire to procreate, I second the “Business of Being Born” recommendation.

    Erin Elizabeth

    November 1, 2010 at 1:59 pm

  4. Woah. Congrats! And moving? Good gracious!

    X

    Saer { craven maven }

    November 4, 2010 at 2:32 am

  5. Courtney/Erin — I’ve had that doc in my Netflix queue forever. Just bumped it up to the top of the queue … 😉

    Elizabeth

    November 7, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  6. Elizabeth,
    Congratulations! Pete and I are so happy for you. And not that you needed another reason to be happy for your new baby bump, but you now can wear: MATERNITY OVERALLS! Exciting

    Speaking of overalls, do you guys want to get together for International Overalls Day this Saturday the 20th? Let us know, we’d be there with our bibs on!

    ~jen

    Jenny

    November 17, 2010 at 12:54 am

  7. Congratulations! (And I hope you’re participating in tomorrow’s 2nd annual International Overalls Day!)

    Jaquandor

    November 19, 2010 at 10:01 pm

  8. […] The limits of social media A few months ago, I was going to have a baby. I was very excited about this and, after telling family and close friends, I decided to make it […]

    A & B | Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

    January 6, 2011 at 6:00 pm


Leave a Reply

