Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

Wonton Disregard

leave a comment »

I tend to do my best cooking when not following a recipe (following instructions in most arenas bores me terribly, and cooking is no exception). There are, however, certain risks involved when going rogue with a food processor—especially when you don’t have time to taste your wares before presenting them to a gaggle of hungry midwestern family members whose general conception of appetizers leans toward pizza rolls and Townhouse crackers with blocks of pre-cut cheddar cheese. That is why I am especially proud of my latest kitchen creation: Vegetarian holiday wontons stuffed with four completely un-premeditated fillings:

1. Sesame/Sunflower/Soy

2. Almond/Sundried tomato/Basil

3. Rosemary/Lemon/Cannelli Bean

4. Pumpkin/Almond/Date/Molasses/Cola

They were a hit with even the most blandly-palated members of my familial clan, dears (i.e. my mother), particularly the desert wontons (#4). Because of my aforementioned aversion to recipes, I can’t give you any precise instructions for recreating my results, but I will lay out the ingredients for each—the magic, of course, is in experimentation, and that’s all up to you.

In food processor, combine:

1. Raw sunflower seeds, sesame oil, soy sauce, thai red curry paste, water (just enough to help the processing along), Hawaiian sea salt

2. Raw almonds (works best if you soak them in water first), sundried tomatoes, fresh basil, sea salt, balsalmic vinegar, olive oil, water

3. Cannelli beans (drained), fresh rosemary, lemon juice, olive oil, sea salt, pepper

4. Pumpkin, pitted dates, raw almonds, natural cane cola, molasses, raw blue agave nectar

Dab a bit into the center of each wonton wrapper (I used Nasoya wonton wraps). Wet your fingers, fold up the three corners of the wrappers individually and then bring them together slightly in the middle (this sounded complicated to me when I read it on the back of the Nasoya wrapper, too, but it wasn’t).

Coat pan lightly with oil or non-stick spray, if that’s your thing. I also dabbed a bit of sesame oil with a brush on the tops of the savory wontons.

Garnish as you see fit—if my mom wasn’t rushing up to hurry up and finish my “weirdo food” so she could finish up her marshmallow and sweet potato casserole, I would have fun with this, but as it was I only got around to sprinkling the pumpkin wontons with a bit of cinnamon and honey.*

Bake at 350 for approximately 15 minutes.

[I believe this is the first time I’ve posted a recipe-esque thing to this blog. What do you think? I do a whole lot of vegetarian/vegan and raw cooking/experimentation, and now that my former foodsy blog is extinct, I don’t have a place to share. Yay or nay?]

Written by Elizabeth

November 24, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Leave a Reply

