Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

Curio: 2/11/11

with 2 comments

Everything this man posts, I want to be my life. Why am I not around this firepit? Why don’t I know this guy with the goggles? I own a buckskin hat, but why have I never placed a large feather in the side of it? Why don’t I own a VW Van? Or have a wolf tattoo? Why, my god, have I never visited the South?
[As a soundtrack while checking out Refueled’s blog, you may want to listen to the Woodsist ‘Welcome Home/Diggin’ the Universe’ LP, which I’m just first hearing this week. There are Cure and Grateful Dead covers! It’s amazing in that Chocolate Bobka ‘Sunday Morning Brunch’-y way. I’m also very much enjoying Woodsist’s newest, the White Fence ‘Is Growing Faith’ LP.]
There are, of course, times when this nearly becomes one’s life. These photos. I had a lot of moments like these this past August and September, ambling about California shooting a western and road-tripping with friends in and out of the goddamn cobras. I am telling you all of this about California mostly so I can link to a project just finished by my friend Jackie, documenting another goddamn cobras roadtrip, the summer before last (I was, somewhat regretfully, not on this trip, as I was between D.C. and Brooklyn that August with a month-long layover in Ohio),  when a group of these Brooklyn kids drove out to Boulder, Colorado, and back.

I’m in Chicago right now, where I spent last Friday night hanging out in a genuine igloo, so I’m a little bit daydreamy about the West again right now. Luckily I should be visiting California again soon …  And then, maybe, to find a home. Or a good VW van, at least …
Written by Elizabeth

February 11, 2011 at 4:52 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Elizabeth,
    Thanks for the kind words about Refueled. Glad you dig what I’m doing. Love your videos. They remind me a lot of what I’m doing with my {Automatic Buzz} series. (http://www.refueledmagazine.com/automatic-buzz.php)

    Peace,
    C.

    PS. I believe the “link” to the Refueled blog you posted might be broken.

    Chris Brown

    February 13, 2011 at 3:24 pm

  2. Thanks, Chris!

    Fixed the link …

    Elizabeth

    February 14, 2011 at 1:24 pm


Leave a Reply

