Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

Thought Catalog

with 2 comments

The best thing I am reading lately, consistently, is Thought Catalog. It’s one of the few things I always check in google reader before marking all read. One of the few open tabs I go back and read after re-opening my laptop in the morning and making swift determinations on all the tabs left open from yesterday. It’s what I always wanted The Awl to be.

This brings me to the awareness that I’ve been really trying to identify things that separate Gen Y writers, parents and filmmakers from their Gen X counterparts. Those three groups, specifically, but also a little bit the generational differences Writ Large, too. I am 28. I am a cusper. I am, technically speaking, the leading edge of the Millennial generation (high school class of 2000, baby!). I keep having the same conversation, about marriage, and babies, and expectations, and dichotomies, etc., etc., with every f**king person I know, seriously. We’re at a stage where we’re poised to come into our own, I think. We’re at the point where we start mattering more. And we’re at the forefront of defining what it is that makes us not Gen X. Of maybe I’m just being narcissistic and grandiose. It’s possible.

Written by Elizabeth

March 22, 2011 at 1:14 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Two of the few things I read consistently is fourchan and reddit. My topics of discussion do not move passed “tits or gtfo”.

    By the by, I was told I was part of the Nintendo generation. Or Pepsi generation… Or Combination Pizza Hut & Taco Bell generation… All I’m sure of is that my allegiance lies with some global branding campaign.

    But thanks for pointing out thought catalog.

    JanMichael

    March 22, 2011 at 5:47 pm

  2. We need to write together about this, Brown.

    Rachel

    April 29, 2011 at 3:53 pm


Leave a Reply

