Elizabeth Nolan Brown // Blog

media. music. feminism. food. city-dwelling. story-telling. and other things.

Appeal for Pity Followers

with 10 comments

You know who reads my blog? My friends. And sometimes my second-cousin Johnny. Some of my friends happen to be journalists. Which even means, occasionally, I get linked to from fancy places. What I’m trying to say here, though, is that my readership is abysmally low.

Which has never really bothered me. ‘Cause like I’ve said before, I’m not really A Blogger. Though I have been trying to blog more regularly lately. And sometimes I like to think, well, maybe at least some people read what I write in their RSS feeds.

Yesterday, however, I made the mistake of checking how many subscribers I had in Google Reader. Wanna know how many?

Seven.

This makes me die a little bit inside.

Even countering for spambots, I’ve got a couple hundred twitter followers. About a hundred people subscribed to my Reader shared-items feed. So …

SEVEN?

Come on, guys! Look, here’s my feed:

http://www.elizabethnolanbrown.com/?feed=rss2

Just put it in your Reader, okay? You don’t even have to check it! Put it in that folder of things you never look at. Put it in that folder of blogs you habitually Mark All Read unless you’re stuck in traffic or on a desert-island with really good 3G reception, okay? I won’t know the difference!

Phoebe Maltz says, “no blogger in his right mind should expect readers beyond” immediate family members and Google-happy exes. But I’m a really nice girl, okay? Ask my second-cousin Johnny. If nothing else, you can write it off as your good deed for the day. Deal?

And if I need to, I’ll post more pictures of baby koalas. Everyone likes baby koalas.

[Addendum: As JP Blanks was nice enough to point out to me, my old RSS feed stopped working in November. Which, come to think of it, is when I switched CMS platforms. And I didn’t even think about this, so I didn’t tell anyone to update their feed. Moral of this story: I’m an idiot sometimes. Carry on!]

Written by Elizabeth

May 3, 2011 at 6:28 am

Posted in Self-Promotion

Tagged with

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know, I had you in google reader but the old address doesn’t send rss anymore and then this week transferred this over. I tried to fix the old link and it took me to your blog’s login page. I think it’s a matter of getting people aware your rss feed changed, for whatever reason. Your last post from the other feed was your November ‘expecting’ post.

    JPB

    May 3, 2011 at 9:39 am

  2. Oh, god, that’s embarrassing (re: last post in the feed). This makes me feel a little bit better, at least, though. I have no idea why it changed, either; does the feed link that I provided here work?

    Elizabeth

    May 3, 2011 at 9:42 am

  3. Oh oh oh. I transferred from wordpress.com platform to wordpress.org right around November I think, actually …

    Elizabeth

    May 3, 2011 at 9:44 am

  4. Oh, when you’re Tweet said “(yes, you!)” I actually thought it meant me… This is just a mass-blog posting! I’ll read you, but I’m not using no reader-thingie-majig.

    Matt

    Matthew A. Sprosty

    May 3, 2011 at 10:21 am

  5. Yes, my marketing gimmick worked! 😉
    I just meant if you already use Google Reader, or an RSS feed reader in general. I know very few people who don’t … which maybe just says more about my life than anything else …

    Elizabeth

    May 3, 2011 at 10:54 am

  6. I count 9 G Reader subscribers (including me!)

    Jacob

    May 3, 2011 at 1:55 pm

  7. All right! + 2 … 😉

    I feel like I’m running a public radio membership drive or something …

    Elizabeth

    May 4, 2011 at 9:07 am

  8. I cried. So out of pity, you’re on my google reader. 😉

    sc

    Shawn

    May 4, 2011 at 6:41 pm

  9. You’re up to 27 now–a 3x increase in one week. If you keep this up you’ll be at ONE BILLION subscribers in a few months.

    Jacob

    May 11, 2011 at 2:24 pm

  10. Maybe I should start offering prizes like in NPR pledge drives.

    Elizabeth

    May 11, 2011 at 5:25 pm


Leave a Reply

